Front-runners of the 62nd Filmfare Awards

Many eyes in Pakistan were stuck to the Filmfare Awards’ social media feed, and not only because it’s the prime film awards in Bollywood.

Four Pakistanis performers Fawad Khan, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, Qurat ul Ain Balouch and Atif Aslam landed to the Filmfare nominations in a year where Pakistani flair working in India became a very argumentative issue.

But our astonishment concluded there. None of the nominated Pakistanis won the sought-after award last night.

Fawad Khan lost the chance to win his second Filmfare award for Kapoor & Sons, trailing out to his co-star Rishi Kapoor in the Best Actor In A Supporting Role category.

Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, who was nominated in the Best Playback Singer (Male) category for ‘Jag Ghoomeya’ (Sultan), also couldn’t be the  two-time Filmfare winner. Atif Aslam, who has been nominated numerous times before in the same category, failed to snitch it this time too for ‘Tere Sang Yara’ (Rustom). Both lost out to ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil’ singer Arijit Singh.

Qurat ul Ain Balouch lost out to Neha Bhasin, who sang ‘Jag Ghoomeya’ in Sultan, in the Best Playback Singer (Female) category.

Here are the rest of the victors.

Best Action

Sham Kaushal – Dangal

Best Background Score

Sameer Uddin – Kapoor & Sons

Best Choreography

Adil Shaikh – Kar gayi chul (Kapoor & Sons)

Best Costume

Payal Saluja – Udta Punjab

Best Cinematography

Mitesh Mirchandani – Neerja

Best Editing

Monisha R Baldawa – Neerja

Best Sound Design

Vivek Sachidanand – Phobia

Best Production Design

Aparna Sud – Neerja

Best Lyrics

Amitabh Bhattacharya – Channa mereya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)

Best Story

Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre – Kapoor & Sons

Best Screenplay

Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre – Kapoor & Sons

Best Dialogue

Ritesh Shah – Pink

Best Music Album

Pritam – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female)

Shabana Azmi – Neerja

Best Debut Director

Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari – Nil Battey Sannata

Best Debut (Male)

Diljit Dosanjh- Udta Punjab

Best Debut (Female)

Ritika Singh – Saala Khadoos

Critics’ Award For Best Actor (Female)

Sonam Kapoor – Neerja

Critics’ Award For Best Actor (Male)

Manoj Bajpayee – Aligarh

Shahid Kapoor – Udta Punjab

Critics’ Award For Best Film

Ram Madhvani- Neerja

Best Actor (Female)

Alia Bhatt- Udta Punjab

Best Director

Nitesh Tiwari- Dangal

Best Actor (Male)

Aamir Khan – Dangal

Best Film


Via Dawn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *